logo CRNL logo DYCOG DYCOG Team
french flag

"Brain Dynamics and Cognition" team in short

Projects

Our program will be organized in 9 projects (8 specific and 1 transversal), with lab members being part of several projects with different levels of implication. We will stimulate interactions between projects, on the studied processes, the methodological approaches (namely, electrophysiology with surface EEG/MEG and intracranial EEG, functional MRI, and behavioural protocols), and the EEG/MEG analysis techniques in space, time and frequency.

Indeed, our studies encompass a coherent ensemble of mental processes at several levels of cognition in humans, from sensory integration mechanisms to higher cognitive functions. The common objective is to understand the neurophysiological substrates of these brain functions in healthy subjects and their dysfunction in neurology and psychiatry. This is motivated by direct clinical applications or by repercussions foreseen on the mid-term.

Although each project is targeting a series of specific questions, some brain functions will be approached from different perspectives across the projects, for instance: attentional processes, perceptual or associative learning, memory traces and working memory, or cognitive impairment . Additionally, approaches based on the transient, reversible and controlled functional perturbation of active networks (transcranial magnetic or intracranial electric stimulation) will also be employed.

These interactions will also be supported by two transversal projects both having a strong methodological emphasis concerning electrophysiological signal analysis and addressing specific conceptual questions: studying the neural origin and the functional role of brain oscillations, hypothetically being the substrate of dynamic brain cooperation, and designing real-time electrophysiological signal analysis to provide new insights into brain functions, such as neurofeedback for instance.

logo CRNL logo DYCOG Equipe DYCOG
english flag

Description

Projets

Les activités de l'équipe sont organisées autour de 9 projets (8 spécifiques et 1 transverse) avec de nombreuses interactions entre ces projets, à la fois sur les thématiques étudiées, les approches méthodologiques (MEG/EEG de surface, EEG intracérébrale, IRMf, protocoles comportementaux) et les techniques d'analyse spatio-temporelle et fréquentielle des signaux MEG/EEG.

Nous explorons un ensemble cohérent de processus cérébraux chez l'Homme à différents niveaux de cognition, depuis les mécanismes d'intégration sensorielle jusqu'aux plus hautes fonctions cognitives . L'objectif est de comprendre le substrat neurophysiologique de ces fonctions cérébrales chez le sujet sain, et leur dysfonctionnement en neurologie et en psychiatrie. Ces objectifs sont motivés par des applications cliniques immédiates ou par des retombées prévisibles à moyen terme.

Si chaque projet est caractérisé par une série de questions propres, certaines fonctions sont abordées de façon transverse par des approches différentes, par exemple : processus attentionnels, apprentissage perceptif et associatif, traces mnésiques et mémoire de travail, ou dysfonctionnement cognitif .

Ces interactions sont renforcées par deux projets transverses à forte connotation méthodologique concernant l'analyse du signal électrophysiologique et porteurs de questions propres : l'étude de l'origine neuronale et du rôle fonctionnel des oscillations comme substrat de la dynamique des interactions cérébrales, et l'analyse en temps réel des signaux électrophysiologiques pour développer un nouveau champ d'exploration des fonctions cérébrales comme le neurofeedback.